A week of two halves

This week has been bizarre, there is absolutely no denying that. And I still haven’t quite had a chance to catch my breath.

To set the scene, last Friday I took a trip down to London. As it looked from my previous blog, it wasn’t just to catch up with friends. It was, in fact, for an interview.

An interview for a job with CAFOD (The Catholic Agency for Overseas Development), for those in Scotland, it is the English/Welsh equivalent of SCIAF. The organisation works with Caritas International to provide refugee relief and emergency aid. They do more than just send in food parcels and give the area money; they provide sustainable development to poverty stricken areas of Africa, Asia, Latin America and Europe, by providing entrepreneurial training; teaching people a craft; showing families how to support themselves; and teaching local leaders about diseases and prevention, so they can look after their communities and not rely on handouts.

So now you have your background.

On Tuesday morning, I got a call. I expected this call to come on Friday, so I was a little scared this meant they absolutely hated me and they didn’t want to consider me anymore.

118e985c21ab29637b9d44ee451dddc6

But, in fact, I GOT THE JOB!

I can say this now because the contract came through this morning.

I am now Major Donor Development Officer for CAFOD. Which I am really excited about.

This is certainly not the path I thought I’d go down, but after my year in New York, I came to love working in non-profit and actually doing some good – and on days like today, I’d really like some good.

The good luck continued as my cousin, Laura, got a 2:1 from Bournemouth University in Visual Communications!

When I thought there wasn’t more, I learnt I was awarded a Merit in my Post Graduate Certificate in International Business Practice from St. Mary’s, Twickenham. Although this wasn’t actually all that exciting, but still an achievement from New York.

a62a169834a4ac65774d60f6d9c9c636

Then it took a turn

I found out that the Executive Chef at Gleneagles, Alan Gibb, passed away on Wednesday morning from a stroke. This came as very unexpected news and left me feeling devastated.

Gibby was a truly amazing man. He worked so hard to amaze the guests at Gleneagles, whilst always being an approachable and friendly man that would try his best to help you out with anything. He was one of the nicest, most genuine people I have ever met and had the pleasure of working with.

My thoughts are with his wife and son at this time as they come to terms with the news, but they should be honoured to know that he had such a massive impact on so many people’s lives.

05ad0b75a79acd02d573a48cef485e5a

And then the big one

The UK voted to leave the EU.  I just cannot believe this and it makes me feel broken and empty to know that the growing pattern in people’s reason for leaving, was immigration. I think that immigration should be something we pride ourselves on. For being open to diversity and embracing culture, but it seems we have a considerable way to go to rebuild our now, fairly broken nation.

image

But let’s look at the positive

I got a job, passed a course, am in the process of sorting a flat, and I get to start the next chapter of my adventures.

All the while I’m absolutely crapping myself as I realise that I have to be an adult – no more Peter Pan life.

13063155_10154218051736122_1302029134858283994_o

 

3 thoughts on “A week of two halves

  1. Very inspiring post Amy, a great example of creating chances so that we can make the most of our opportunities. Whilst Brexit was never my choice, you and your friends will find opportunities there too. Good luck on your exciting future.

    Like

  2. Amy, this is lovely, beautifully written, will hopefully see you before you go but if not all the best in your next adventure,it really does sound like a wonderful opportunity. Take care, lots of love Kirsty Harrower

    Like

Leave a Reply

