MoMa

A couple of weeks ago I went to the MoMa.

Clearly made a massive impression since I’ve been in such a rush to write about it…

We’re getting better. Me and modern art.

Still a little rocky, learning about each other, working out the kinks, but it’ll improve.

At some point it will make sense. Surely?

Anyway… went along with some free passes and an open mind.

Which started off well when the ticket guy asked if we wanted to see the ‘Bjork’ exhibition, followed by “You’re in the Museum of Modern Art, Bjork is crap, go see the good stuff, don’t waste your time”. That may be the open mind slightly less open.

Drawing. Photographs. Painting. Music. Infographics. Comics. Sculpture.

The museum had pretty much everything covered.

There was even an exhibition of old video games. Like Pac Man!!

Being able to see a large variety in one place was really good. Mainly because in other galleries it is so focused on one kind of art, so if you don’t like it, you’re scuppered.

Gradually, as I made my way around, I got more into it.

There were a few things I really liked.

The DNA model made of wire that had ivy growing through it. Still early days, but I’d like to go back and see what it looks like in a couple of months.

The moon alphabet. I was having great fun – whilst feeling extremely confused and dizzy – spinning backward and forward to look at the message and the alphabet key of moon shapes.

The artist had taken photos of shadows on the moon, making full moons, crescents and eclipse, and relating them to letters of the alphabet to write a message.

But I’m still not sure what the message was.

Animation. Brightly coloured, block prints of action characters. I have always loved animation, but somehow I didn’t expect to see a sudden explosion of life and colour in the middle of the room.

Overall it was a pretty enjoyable experience.

But in hindsight, maybe should’ve gone a little earlier so I wouldn’t have to run around and miss things at the last minute – at the point that I’d found some art that I liked.

Will definitely go back.

One thought on “MoMa

Leave a Reply

