A weekend that food dreams are made of…

One of the things that I was a little too excited about before I moved to New York was food.

Nothing in particular. Just food.

And I had a few places on my bucket list that I wanted to check out at some point throughout the year.

That list has now gotten considerably longer, and there will be a food bucket list. And a general bucket list to follow shortly.

So this weekend I had the option of brunch, or do some exploring and eating. I chose the exploring and eating.

Saturday

Peanut Butter & Co.

I started with ‘Peanut Butter & Co.’ on Sullivan Street – next to Washington Square Park.

I love peanut butter. And in America it has become part of my staple diet. I cannot get enough of it. In particular Trader Joe’s peanut butter.

So the idea that there was an entire restaurant dedicated to this wonderful nutty goodness, meant I just had to try it out.

The house special is ‘The Elvis’ – peanut butter, banana and honey. Which I was tempted by. But I felt that it had to be classic ‘PB&J’.

But just to make it even better, it was a double decker PB&J. Crunchy peanut butter. Strawberry jam. Toasted bread.

Yum.

IMG_20150419_121438

And it came with a cute little packet of Peanut Butter & Co. Potato Chips and carrot sticks!

IMG_20150419_192440

Followed up by – and I still cannot believe I am saying this – ‘Death by peanut butter’.

They weren’t joking when they came up with that name. I thought I was going to die.

Vanilla ice cream. Cap’n crunch cereal. Reese’s Pieces. Chocolate chips. Peanut butter sauce. Whipped cream.

I felt sick. But holy crap. That was so good.

The chocolate milkshake may have been a step too far.

The rest of the day was spent being a bit of a tourist.

Roosevelt Island, basically just to do the Funicular Railway/Tram.

DSC_0207 IMG_20150419_122229

Central Park to soak up the spring sunshine.

DSC00585

Pretending to be rich in Tiffany’s.

St. Patrick’s Cathedral – this will probably always be my favourite building in New York.

DSC_0215

Sunday

Scheduled for more waistline bursting crazy eating activity.

At home I love everything to do with cooking. Cooking shows, searching Pinterest to find new recipes, collecting recipe books that I’ll probably only look at once, and of course the actual process of cooking.

Carlo’s Bakery.

In particular though, one of my favourite things to do, is watching Food Network. And for ages that involved watching ‘Cake Boss’.

So when I discovered that Hoboken was the next town along from where I moved, which is the home to Carlo’s Bakery I had to get there.

After about five/six weeks in New York I made the trip.

DSC_0227

I went with a friend that had a similar love for Cake Boss.

It wasn’t quite what I expected. It was a lot more modern. But it has been recently refurbished.

We stood in line for about an hour and a half.

Crazy, I know.

But totally worth it.

I walked up and down the counter, squishing between people to look in the display over and over. I just couldn’t decide.

IMG_20150419_124526

And watching the bakers decorate cakes at the back of the shop.

Watching them ice cakes was insane. They just fired through giant trays in seconds. With a huge bag of icing over their shoulder.

In my friends words, “it’s like a bagpipe of icing”, so Scottish.

I ordered: 1 chocolate chip cannoli. 1 hazelnut cream puff. 1 chocolate brownie with nuts. And a coffee. $9. Not too bad.

IMG_20150419_134720

Got outside. Crossed the road. Sat on a bench in the sun. And watched people walk into the bakery while we stuffed our faces.

Amazing.

Katz’s Deli.

The day continued with a trip to ‘Katz’s Deli’.

Sorry Dad, I know I said I’d wait for you to come visit. But June is too far away. I wanted a Pastrami Sandwich today.

IMG_20150419_143340

I will definitely go back with you.

Oh my God. This was unreal.

I arrived to a queue around the corner.

Got in and the place was packed. People lined up all over the place to order.

Pastrami, corned beef, brisket, hot dogs, burgers, Reuben, chilli, who knows what else.

I went for the Pastrami, because really what else was I going to get on my first trip.

Watching the guy slice up the pastrami in front of me and having a chat while me made the sandwich was pretty cool.

Then I had the challenge of finding a seat.

The place was bursting at the seams. I sat down next a German man who didn’t look quite as excited as me, but I was like a kid in a candy shop, so I don’t think anyone could’ve been as excited as me.

DSC_0244

This thing was enormous.

I nearly broke my jaw trying to bite into it.

And the pickles. Mmmm.

IMG_20150419_150346

I am just a fat kid at heart.

I couldn’t finish it, so if I ever get hungry again I have a third of a sandwich to look forward to.

Then a walk across Brooklyn Bridge to Brooklyn Bridge Park.

DSC00613

DSC00639

DSC00638

Shake Shack.

And I couldn’t believe it. But I went to Shake Shack to get a concrete.

Another one ticked off the list.

This tub of gooey chocolate, fudge, brownie goodness was amazing.

DSC_0249

I genuinely believe after this weekend I have diabetes. And I have never done a food happy dance so many times in one weekend. Ever.

Tomorrow morning, 6am gym session. Essential.

This is the way weekends should be spent.

Although maybe not every weekend. I don’t think my waistline and bank balance can take it.

One thought on “A weekend that food dreams are made of…

Leave a Reply

